Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Swimming With Sharks | Paul de Gelder | Shark Attack Survivor, Navy Diver, TV Host

August 4 @ 1:30 pm - 2:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on August 4, 2020 at 1:30 pm

Shark attack survivor Paul de Gelder explores the beauty and majesty of nature’s most perfect predators – and shares what it’s like to be their prey.

Few have been attacked by a shark and survived to tell the story. Even fewer have then made swimming with sharks their career. On a Navy mission, Paul de Gelder lost two limbs to a shark attack; now he hosts shows for Discovery Channel’s Shark Week and draws on his story to help people face and conquer their fears.

The class is held in two 30 minute sessions. All ages are welcome, but the class is best for kids in grades 4 to 12. Register to participate.

July 28 & August 4: 1:30pm Eastern, 12:30pm Central, 10:30am Pacific

 

SESSION 1

Sharks: Nature’s Perfect Predator
Sharks have spent the last 400 million years evolving into the ocean’s apex predator. And no one knows them better than Paul, who’ll take you on an undersea adventure into the world of sharks, and will tell you how to help ensure they live another 400 million years.

SESSION 2

Surviving a Shark Attack
What’s it like to come face to face with a hungry shark? Paul lived that experience so you don’t have to! In this session, he’ll vividly recount his shark attack and his path to recovery, and then explain the secrets of facing and overcoming your most terrifying fears.